Oct 26, 2013

Waking Up Dead by Margo Bond Collins Promo


I'd like to welcome Waking Up Dead by Margo Bond Collins to my blog.  
Hope you all enjoy the excerpt!





Blurb


When Dallas resident Callie Taylor died young, she expected to go to Heaven, or maybe Hell. Instead, when she met her fate early thanks to a creep with a knife and a mommy complex, she went to Alabama. Now she's witnessed another murder, and she's not about to let this one go. She's determined to help solve it before an innocent man goes to prison. And to answer the biggest question of all: why the hell did she wake up dead in Alabama?





Excerpt 

When I died, I expected to go to heaven.
Okay. Maybe hell. It’s not like I was perfect or anything. But I was sort of hoping for heaven.
Instead, I went to Alabama.
Yeah. I know. It’s weird.
I died in Dallas, my hometown. I was killed, actually. Murdered. I’ll spare you the gruesome details. I don’t like to remember them myself. Some jerk with a knife--and probably a Bad-Mommy complex. Believe me, if I knew where he was, I’d go haunt his ass.
At any rate, by the time death came, I was ready for it--ready to stop hurting, ready to let go. I didn’t even fight it.
And then I woke up dead in Alabama. Talk about pissed off.
You know, even reincarnation would have been fine with me--I could have started over, clean slate and all that. Human, cow, bug. Whatever. But no. I ended up haunting someplace I’d never even been.
That’s not the way it’s supposed to work, right? Ghosts are supposed to be the tortured spirits of those who cannot let go of their earthly existence. If they could be convinced to follow the light, they’d leave behind said earthly existence and quit scaring the bejesus out of the poor folks who run across them. That’s what all those “ghost hunter” shows on television tell us.
Let me tell you something. The living don’t know jack about the dead.
Not this dead chick, anyway.


About the Author

Margo Bond Collins lives in Texas with her husband, their daughter, several spoiled cats, and a ridiculous turtle. She teaches college-level English courses online, though writing fiction is her first love. She enjoys reading urban fantasy and paranormal fiction of any genre and spends most of her free time daydreaming about vampires, ghosts, zombies, werewolves, and other monsters. Waking Up Dead is her first published novel. Her second novel, Legally Undead, is an urban fantasy, forthcoming in 2014 from World Weaver Press.


Connect with Margo
Twitter: http://margobondcollins.com/  @MargoBondCollin

Be sure to add Waking Up Dead to your Goodreads bookshelves: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18428064-waking-up-dead

Oct 14, 2013

Spooktacular Giveaway Hop: Win $10 Gift Card



Welcome to the Spooktacular Giveaway Hop!

Thanks to I Am A Reader, Not A Writer for organizing the best hop of the year.

I must admit that I've not been very actively lately with my blog.  It's been a crazy six months for me.  I'm hoping to post more in the next few months.  

Now to the good part of the hop.
My Giveaway is a $10 Amazon or Barnes & Noble Gift Card (winner's choice). 
This giveaway is open Internationally.

Good luck everyone & Happy Halloween!




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Jul 18, 2013

Harbinger by Philippa (Pip) Ballantine



Harbinger
Philippa (Pip) Ballantine

Release date July 30th

cover artist Jason Chan

Book Description:

The Deacons of the Order are all that stand between the wicked spirits of the Otherside and the innocent citizens of the Empire. They are sworn to protect humanity, even when they cannot protect themselves…

After the Razing of the Order, Sorcha Faris, one of the most powerful Deacons, is struggling to regain control of the runes she once wielded. The Deacons are needed more desperately than ever. The barrier between the world of the living and the world of the dead is weakening, and the Emperor has abandoned his throne, seeking to destroy those he feels have betrayed him.

Though she is haunted by the terrible truth of her past, Sorcha must lead the charge against the gathering hordes of geists seeking to cross into the Empire. But to do so, she will need to manipulate powers beyond her understanding—powers that may prove to be her undoing…

About the Author

New Zealand born fantasy writer and podcaster Philippa (Pip) Ballantine is the author of the Books of the Order and the Shifted World series. She is also the co-author with her husband Tee Morris of the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences novels. Her awards include an Airship, a Parsec, and a Sir Julius Vogel. She currently resides in Manassas, Virginia with her husband, daughter, and a mighty clowder of cats.

Author of: Geist, Spectyr, Wrayth and Harbinger (2013) from Ace Books and Hunter and Fox and Kindred and Wings (2013) from Pyr Books

Co-author (with Tee Morris) of Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences— an Airship Award winning steampunk series. Novels: Phoenix Rising and the Janus Affair. Also includes digital short stories and a free award winning podcast series


Twitter: philippajane



Jul 10, 2013

VBT: Cassie Scot Paranormal Detective by Christine Amsden




GIVEAWAY!
Christine will be awarding a $10 Amazon gift card to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour. Please follow the tour to increase your chances of winning! Click here for a complete list of blogs participating in this Super Book Blast.


BLURB:



Cassie Scot is the ungifted daughter of powerful sorcerers, born between worlds but belonging to neither. At 21, all she wants is to find a place for herself, but earning a living as a private investigator in the shadow of her family’s reputation isn’t easy. When she is pulled into a paranormal investigation, and tempted by a powerful and handsome sorcerer, she will have to decide where she truly belongs.





Excerpt :

My parents think the longer the name, the more powerful the sorcerer, so they named me Cassandra Morgan Ursula Margaret Scot. You can call me Cassie.
           
I've been called a lot of things in my life: normal, ordinary, and even a disappointment. After the Harry Potter books came out, a couple of people called me a squib. Since I haven't read them, I have to assume it's a compliment.
           
Personally, I prefer normal, which is why the sign on my office door reads: Cassie Scot, Normal Detective.
           
You have to understand that around here, when your last name is Scot, people are easily confused. Not only are my parents powerful practitioners, but I have six talented brothers and sisters. Plus, my family hasn't always been known for its subtlety. When weird stuff happens around here, the people who are willing to believe in magic are prone to suspect the Scots.
           
The day I opened for business I got a call from an old woman who swore her cat was possessed by the devil. She also swore she'd read my web site, which clearly stated the types of work I did and did not do. Exorcisms were on the No list, and while I hadn't specified pet exorcisms, I would have thought it was implicit.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:


Award-winning author Christine Amsden has written stories since she was eight, always with a touch of the strange or unusual. She became a “serious” writer in 2003, after attending a boot camp with Orson Scott Card. She finished Touch of Fate shortly afterward, then penned The Immortality Virus, which won two awards. Expect many more titles by this up-and-coming author.


Links


Website: http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/

Blog: http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/?page_id=200

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ChristineAmsden

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Christine-Amsden-Author-Page/127673027288664?ref=hl

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1030664.Christine_Amsden

Google+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/117845642477854934607

.

Jun 24, 2013

Book Tour: Demon Inhibitions by Gary Starta

Demon Inhibitions
by Gary Starta

About The Author:

Gary Starta is a former journalist who began writing multi-genre fiction in 2004. He likes to include science theory in his stories as well as elements of paranormal, fantasy, mystery and romance. 

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter






Genre: Paranormal Romance/Science-Fiction
Publisher: Self-Published at Amazon Kindle
Release Date: March 15, 2013
Amazon

Book Description:

Most people don't travel to another universe to get a new job, house and boyfriend but psychic investigator Caitlin Diggs did. Now she's living the life of her alternate self, working for the FBI's Preternatural Division where her first case just happens to include chasing a genetically engineered man hell bent on stealing souls. Well, there had to be consequences. 



Demon Inhibitions Excerpt

When she found I had visited Manners, Briana began scurrying about her house, scooping up a pair of scissors and a red candle. Before I could speak further, she came at me. I backed away from her in fright. Her placid face revealed nothing malevolent. But the shears were headed right for me. I tried to dive away from the contradiction. Who was the real Briana? The sweet woman who made cookies for me--or her shears wielding maniac counterpart now standing before me? She screamed not to worry. I heard a snip. I felt a strange sensation. Not pain. But something was no longer attached to me. It was a piece of my hair. She caught the floating lock in her hands as if it were a runaway feather.
It is very important we get to work, Caitlin.” Too stunned to process the weird moment, I could barely utter a groan.
Then she explained how she must protect me. “He’ll surely make a visitation now that he has met you.”
I tried to explain it was a good thing. I would probably get a vision of him and then I could determine his part in the slayings.
She interrupted. “A visitation is what he’ll do to you. I don’t know how to break this to you but the cat judge is an incubus. He’ll surely come to you in your dreams. And in case he is our murderer, you’ll need a protection spell, pronto.”
I reminded her I carried a firearm. I had worked in the FBI.
No earthbound weapons can harm the judge once he joins with you. An incubus enters your dream world.”
'How do you know this?” My tone grew edgy. She had obviously withheld knowledge of Manners. Maybe the two were friends or even lovers. And she just admitted an incubus could have committed these crimes without fear of being harmed or caught.
I know things because I’m a witch, Caitlin. That explanation will have to suffice for now.”
If you’re truly a witch, Briana, you must know he’s our best suspect.”<br<
I do not wish to make sentence of him, yet. He could very well be innocent, even though he is not human. You must not be quick to judge. Don’t forget you now have paranormal abilities. You wouldn’t want to be labeled guilty just because of who you are.”
She had me there.
I settled in for the spell.
I will create a mind shield for you, Caitlin Diggs.”
She began to chant, inviting me to join her.
I call upon the helpful powers of my ancestors. Please protect and shield me from harm. By the ancient ancestral power, blessed be!”
Briana played soft Celtic music for me as we waited for the spell to take effect. I tried to distract myself with the lovely dulcet tones of harps and violins. It almost worked until my stomach rumbled--again. We never had supper. Briana was too intent on saving my ass. For what seemed hours we held hands waiting for the candle to burn down. I had plenty of time to drink in the ambience of the McFadden household. Floral print furniture and lacy doilies surrounded me. But most disturbing, a poster of Cher is depicting the actress as a witch in the film Witches of Eastwick, hung right before my eyes. When the candle finally expired I yawned and thanked Briana.
“Don’t thank me yet. The night is now upon us. We must return to your house if we hope to engage the judge.”
Won’t your presence discourage Manners from coming?”
No.” She paused to smile. “You could have twenty police armed to the hilt and he’d still come. Nothing from the waking world can harm him.”
muttered something unintelligible even to me.
I’ll be in the next room to supervise so to speak. When he comes I’ll sense it. I will then cast a binding spell so he can’t attack you – or worse, drain you. Now the spell won’t last indefinitely so you won’t want to waste time with small talk. Hopefully you’ll be able to determine his innocence or guilt in your dream.”
had once interrogated an evil man named Crowley in a dream state. It didn’t go so well. But at least he didn’t threaten to harm me. Maybe he couldn’t. I still don’t know; but I was sure of one thing if the judge threatened me in anyway I would defend myself. I didn’t care what Briana said about the dream and waking worlds. I went to bed packing a handgun.






Jun 17, 2013

Virtual Book Tour & Interview: Vampire Elite by Irina Argo


Thank you for joining us today Irina Argo.  Irina is promoting her Vampire Elite Series. She provided us with an interview.  So, be sure to continue reading to learn about her.  

GIVEAWAY!

Irina is giving away one $50 BN or Amazon Gift Card.
To enter, complete the rafflecopter at the end of this post.


BLURB:  

Can the ultimate choice be made if saving your race means destroying the one you love?
At the beginning of the twenty-first century of our era a millennia long war between two immortal races was coming to an end. The Vampire Elite, the strongest among vampires, forced the race of immortal beings, the Amiti to become their blood suppliers, called bloodstock, locking them in their underground cells and treating them like livestock. The surviving free Amiti make a final attempt to strike back. The Queen of Amiti is proclaimed a traitor and is executed. Her death signifies the rise of a new Queen, her young daughter Arianna who becomes the last hope of her dying race. Arianna totally embraces her mission and is ready to fight for her people to the last drop of her blood but encounters an unexpected challenge—the vampire King Tor. They both are captured into a trap of love where they had to make an ultimate choice; to kill the loved one or to let their races die.

Vampire Elite is the epic story of a bitter conflict between two peoples, and the effect of that conflict on everyone living in its grip. The characters are driven to love and betrayal, vengeance and sacrifice in a world without easy black-and-white answers.

Based on an ancient Egyptian legend, packed with action and intrigue, Vampire Elite will pull you into the entrancing world of immortals and open new portals into their hidden universe.

What do you think you’re really bad at?

Housekeeping …I detest it..Jo-An

Well, not realllly bad.Still trying to understand English Metaphors, I still take a lot of things literally, spelling is not one of my best suits and verb conjugation is still a challenge. I was born and raised in Russia. The influence of the Russian language is strong. If it were not for Jo-An and Laura, our editor, this book would never have gone farther than being a dream to becoming a reality .. Irina

 Is your life anything like it was two years ago?

Not even close – two years ago I had a costume shop and 8000 square feet of merchandise, plus designed and created original costumes. I had no employees, but some of my customers helped out when they could. I was working 15 to 18 hours a day, 7 days a week, taking some week-ends off to go water-skiing- I put on theater productions for GLBT Charity Groups handling all of the costumes, recruiting, script and production.

Now I spend a lot of time working on these books and traveling in our RV. Reading, going to movies, spending time with my husband and taking cruises…Jo-An

It is changing now with the book completion but it was really dark. To witness someone you love paralyzed and helpless on a daily basis is really a challenge. In addition to that, there was all of the physical work required after working a 10 hour day with challenging youths..Irina

 Have you ever had an imaginary friend?

Yes, as a child I had a bendable dinosaur; I set him on the back of a milk truck bumper at a store across the street from our house …you see, there were ‘no pets allowed’ .. when I came back out, the truck was gone and so was my dinosaur…60 years later, I still miss that little guy. Jo-An

Yes I did. It was a black panther. She was protecting me on the streets following me around and she could talk. That is why I adore cats. They are small panthers..Irina

Do you have any phobias?

 No, but I don’t like speed or high places with ledges. Jo-An

Oh yes—spiders. I’m trying to convince myself that the majority of them are harmless but it’s not working. How can anything with 8 legs not be scary?..Irina

Ever broken any bones?

Just my foot, in a cast for 8 weeks..Jo-An

No. I was lucky even when I did what I considered, some dangerous sports like horseback riding and water-skiing. .Irina



AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Irina Argo is a combined pen name for two authors, Irina Kardos and Jo-An Torres.

Irina


Irina's world is dark. She works as a clinical psychologist in a Juvenile Correctional Facility dealing with the extremes of human behavior on a regular basis and takes care of her paralyzed husband who suffered a stroke several years ago.  To bring light into her life she writes. Writing has always been her passion. She is originally from Russia where she was employed as a TV journalist.






Jo-An


Jo-An is a Leo, a lioness who has emerged to follow her dream, to someday write a book of her own. She owned a costume shop for 15 years and was able to satisfy and excel in her creative nature. She is an over-achiever and believes that anything is possible if you believe in yourself and ignore the nay-sayers. Her philosophy is based on Shakespeare "it is not in the stars to hold our destiny, but in ourselves." She currently resides in California with her 5 cats and 1 husband.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jun 14, 2013

Guest Blog & Giveaway: Shield by JC Andrijeski


I'd like to welcome JC Andrijeski today! 
 I've read Rook (Allie's War #1) and really enjoyed the book.  I look forward to reading Shield (Allie's War #2).  I strongly encourage all you readers to start this series.  You won't be disappointed!
JC created a guest video blog for today's post.  I think you all will enjoy the video below!

GIVEAWAY!!

Two prize packs consisting of a print book, mug, notebook, magnet, and t-shirt.
3 Paperbacks
10 ebooks
(Physical prize packs open to US shipping)
To enter please complete the rafflecopter at the end of this post.



Title:       Shield
               Allie’s War, Book Two
Author:   JC Andrijeski
Genre: New Adult / Urban  Fantasy/ Romance 
Publisher: White Sun Press 

Cover Artist: White Sun Press

Book Description:
 
“And they say Death will live among them in the guise of a child....”

Grappling with her new identity as “Bridge,” a being meant to herald the end for all of humanity, isn’t even Allie’s biggest problem. She’s also coping with a whole new set of rules around her seer marriage, as well as the power-hungry Rook she helped put in the White House, who is currently doing his best to start a war with China.

Then the boy appears. A sociopath with all of the energetic markings of Syrimne, a highly dangerous telekinetic seer who killed thousands during World War I, he doesn’t appear to have aged in one hundred years.

Worse, he thinks Allie belongs to him.

Excerpt:
The lock made a squealing sound as if it hadn’t been turned in months.
When the door swung wide, Terian had to fight to keep from gagging at the smell that flooded the hallway from the light-less hole. Bile rushed to his throat; he covered his mouth and nose with the hand holding the gun. He swore profusely, fighting the impulse to shoot the two people close enough to blame for this abomination.
“Not so pleasant is it?” the old man sneered. “Hiding the sins of the past? Not so neat and clean...”
Terian raised the gun, pointing it at him, then thought better of it and stepped around him instead, snatching one of the torches from an iron bracket and entering the small chamber, the sleeve of his forearm firmly over his nose and mouth. He swung the torch in a wide arc, taking in the small stone space. The ceiling rose higher than he would have expected, at least twice the height of the corridor outside, but the floor space stood only at about eight by eight feet.
Terian turned around twice in the small cell, then stopped, startled when he saw a gleam of eyes reflect light back from his torch. He’d missed the creature in his first turn around the room. Even now, it stood as still as a posed corpse.
Four lowered the torch, blinking as his eyes adjusted.
The boy stood with every muscle in his small frame relaxed. Yet his demeanor wasn’t one of subjugation or defeat, like the boys aboveground. On the contrary, his expression was calm, even politely interested. His shoulders sloped down below his neck, his arms below them, all the way to his hands, open at his sides, with delicate fingers. In appearance he was adolescent, perhaps fourteen or fifteen years old for a human, twenty to twenty-five for a seer.
He stood so motionless and his skin shone with such a dull gray sheen he appeared to be made of wax. His eyes followed Terian’s every movement as if gliding on smooth rails, not once jerking or showing a reaction.
After a few seconds, Terian realized he himself had tensed. He felt as though he were being hunted, watched the way a giant cat might watch the motions of an antlered buck.
Behind the boy, a palate of rags and what might have been an ancient mattress stood near one wall of the cell, all the same dark gray with black streaks. The smell concentrated from there, and moreso from a bucket that stood near enough to the “bed” that Terian wanted to shove it further away with the toe of his boot, if only to get the image of this creature sleeping next to its own excrement forever out of his mind.
“What is your name, boy?” Terian said. He found himself fascinated by the black eyes, the utter lack of expression. “Can you speak?”
The boy’s expression changed.
Terian saw a dense hatred concentrate in those pupils, so fathomless it actually caused him to flinch back. Hearing noise behind him, he turned. The woman stood in the doorway, as did the old man. The boy’s look of murder aimed precisely at the man with the hole shot through his hand.
“You did that?” The boy turned to Terian.
He spoke Prexci of such an ancient dialect that Terian had to concentrate to make out the words. He slid into the Barrier, tried to look at the boy from there. Once he had, he focused and refocused his sight, not believing what he saw.
Above the filthy creature’s head spiraled a collection of structures that nearly gave Terian an erection. A kind of fascinated awe fell over him as he stared at those spiraling shapes.
The boy said again. “You did that? You shot him?”
“Yes,” Terian told him, clicking out. “I did.”
For a long moment, the boy only looked at the wasted human. Finally, he turned to Four.
“Yes. I will go with you.”
Without fully turning his head, Terian spoke to the other two. “What the fuck is this precious bundle of joy?” He glanced over his shoulder.
The woman turned sheet white. “You said you knew. You said he entrusted you...”
The old man gave another of those sick, grating chuckles. “I told you. He likely killed your precious Teacher with his own hands...”
“You wouldn’t be far off with that, old man,” Terian said, raising the gun. “But you still haven’t answered my question...”
The woman raised her hands to Terian in a kind of pleading supplication, her eyes darting nervously between him and the boy on the cot. “You must understand. It was for his own protection...for all of our protection. We feed him well...”
Terian gave a harsh laugh. “Yes. This is practically the Ritz. But I’m not here to spank you for your housekeeping skills, Fraulein...” Even so, he realized in some surprise that he was angry. Beyond angry...he was furious. His hand shook as he pointed it at the two “monks.” That they would keep any seer in such a place, much less a seer like this, with structures like he had...it was inconceivable. That Galaith could have been part of such a travesty...
“Unchain him,” Terian said, motioning towards the boy with the gun. “Now.”
The woman’s face drained further of blood. “Sir?”
“You heard him. He’s coming with me. Now unchain him.”
“Sir! You don’t understand! His collar...the restraint wire on his sight is attached to his chain! It was a safeguard, so no one could ever leave with him...”
She trailed when Terian raised the gun to point at her face. Terian cocked his head, staring at her. The woman stared at the boy, then back at Terian.
“You can’t possibly understand what you are doing!” she cried. “He cannot be allowed to leave this place!”
“The boy won’t hurt me. Will you, lad?”
“No. I won’t hurt.” He paused. “...You.”
Terian smiled. “See? We’re going to be pals, me and this handsome devil...”
The old man with the bleeding hand laughed, stopping only when he broke into a paroxysm of thick coughs. He spat a gob of phlegm in the direction of the boy. Wiping his mouth on his dirt-encrusted robe, he spoke up.
“I’ll unchain him.” His voice had a note of finality to it. “I’ll do it...I’ll let the little bastard go. It’s mine to do...”
“Merenje, no!” the woman cried, but Terian swung the gun back on her, stopping her from going after him.
“Stay,” he said, smiling when she pulled up short. “That’s a good girl...”
The old man stumbled across the room, still holding his hand to his robes.
The boy stood perfectly still as Merenje reached him. He didn’t move as the old man fumbled with the metal collar around his neck. Terian hadn’t seen it until then, as it blended so perfectly with the color of the grimy neck.
Now that he saw it, however, Terian realized the thing was an antique. Instead of the light, thin organic hybrid metals used on the seers in the pens upstairs, the boy’s collar weighted his neck with several inches of what appeared to be iron. The organic skin on the outside looked like it came from some kind of reptile. The back end, instead of having a thumbnail release valve triggered with retinal or other scanner, consisted of an iron ring that connected to a thick chain bolted into the wall above the palate of rags where the boy slept. The chain didn’t even give him the range of the small cell. No wonder the bucket remained by the bed.
Feeling his anger return, Terian watched the old man grasp the chain, which was also coated in organic skin.
“Use the key,” the old man said. His pitted eyes stared at the boy’s. “Use the key now...I’ve triggered the lock!”
“No!” the woman screamed.
But Terian already understood. Chuckling, he entered the Barrier space, and found himself facing an elaborate structure that had Dehgoies’ and Galaith’s aleimic fingerprints all over it. A golden weaving of light, it configured in a kind of delicate beauty around the boy, strangling his aleimi through the organic components of the collar.
Recalling the symbol he’d found in Dehgoies Revik’s journal, the same one he’d used to fool the woman into thinking Galaith had sent him, Terian imprinted it on the Barrier structure. It fit perfectly into the missing piece woven into the restraint collar around the boy’s neck and its organic tissue.
As he withdrew from the Barrier space, Four heard an audible click.
His vision cleared, leaving him back in the pitch-black dungeon.
The boy met his gaze, and smiled.


About the Allie’s War Series:

An urban fantasy paranormal romance set in a unique, gritty version of Earth, populated by a second race of beings called seers, the Allie’s War series centers on the relationship of a strong female protagonist, Allie Taylor, and her antihero guide, Dehgoies Revik. Falling into the new adult genre of books, the Allie’s War series takes place in a modern version of Earth you’ve never seen, that spans centuries along with the lives of its main characters, the seers, and the wars they fight with themselves and their human allies and enemies, (steamy sex scenes in parts!).




Allie's War series

Shield: Allie’s War, Book Two

About the Author:
JC Andrijeski has published novels, novellas, serials, graphic novels and short stories, as well as nonfiction essays and articles, including the Allie’s War series, The Slave Girl Chronicles and bestselling novella, The Alien Club. Her short fiction runs from humorous to apocalyptic, and her nonfiction articles cover subjects from graffiti art, meditation, psychology, journalism, politics and history. JC has traveled extensively and lived abroad, but currently lives and works on the Oregon Coast.

Please visit JC's blog at http://jcandrijeski.blogspot.com or her website at www.syrimne.com




Goodreads author page:


@jcandrijeski





a Rafflecopter giveaway

May 20, 2013

May Kindle Fire Giveaway

May Kindle Giveaway
 
This is a joint AUTHOR & BLOGGER SPONSORED GIVEAWAY!
Kindle Fire HD 7" Giveaway
The winner will have the option of receiving a 7" Kindle Fire HD (US Only)
  Or $199 Amazon.com Gift Card (International)
  Or $199 in Paypal Cash (International)
Sponsoring Bloggers & Authors
  1. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer
  2. Feed Your Reader
  3. Girls with Books
  4. Just Bookin' Around
  5. The (Mis)Adventures of a Twenty-Something Year Old Girl
  6. Books, Beauty and Bodacious Deals
  7. Author Emma Michaels
  8. Page Flipperz YA
  9. Lori's Reading Corner
  10. Oh, Chrys!
  11. Author Josh Baker
  12. Author Roxanne Crouse
  13. Eve's Fan Garden
  14. Author Elizabeth Isaacs
  15. Chapter Break
  16. Buku-Buku Didi
  17. Molly & Mel's Obsessions Book Blog
  18. Author Jennifer Laurens
  19. Author MK McClintock
  20. Bookhounds
  21. Step Into Fiction
  22. Author Lena Sledge
  23. Author Taylor Dean
  24. Leisure Reads
  25. Libby's Library
  26. A Bookish Escape
  27. Ramblings of a Diva Book Nerd
  28. Suspense Author Kim Cresswell
  29. Suzy Turner, YA Author
  30. Books Unhinged by StacyHgg
  31. Author Lori Verni-Fogarsi
  32. Fae Books
  33. Word to Dreams
  34. Kid Lit Frenzy
  35. Author Tressa Messenger
  36. Auggie Talk
  37. Phantasmic Reads
  38. Kerry Taylor
  39. Reviews by Martha's Bookshelf
  40. Marissa's Space
  Giveaway Details 1 winner will receive their choice of a Kindle Fire 7" HD (US Only), $199 Amazon Gift Card or $199 in Paypal Cash (International). Ends 5/31/13 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the participating authors & bloggers. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.   a Rafflecopter giveaway

May 15, 2013

Super Book Blast & Giveaway: Lucid by Natalie Roers


GIVEAWAY:  Natalie will award a $10 Amazon or BN.com gift card to one randomly drawn commenter.  
I encourage everyone to follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning.  The tour dates can be found at http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2013/04/super-book-blast-lucid-by-natalie-roers.html



LUCID
By
Natalie Roers

BOOK BLURB:



Being hailed by critics as an intelligent new voice in young adult fiction, Roers' debut novel tells the anything but ordinary, coming of age story of a small town, teen aged, misfit named Travis Hunter.

Disfigured at birth and ostracized at school, Travis dreams of acceptance and secretly yearns for the affection of a beautiful young woman named Corrine. When a mysterious doctor promises to help Travis through something called lucid dreaming, Travis suddenly finds himself ushered into a secret society called "The Lucid", a collection of social outcasts like himself, who have created their own world inside of dreams.

When Travis discovers he is able to bring Corrine into these dreams, he gets more than he ever bargained for and soon finds himself learning the secrets of love and life in a fantastic unconscious world.

An instant classic, Lucid is a timeless story of self-acceptance with a fresh paranormal twist.



EXCERPT from Lucid

Corrine’s breathing quickened and she pushed against my chest to break the hold.

Not wanting to let go, I grabbed at her waist again, but she stopped me.

“What did you do that for?” I asked, my voice low and raspy. Even I couldn’t  tell if I was asking why she kissed me or why she had stopped.

Corrine stepped back even further and looked down at her legs.  That’s when I saw it. The shin of her left leg was starting to fade.

“Travis, I don’t know you,” she said softly. “If this is real, though? If it’s really real, like you say it is? I want to meet you. Do you understand me? I want you to come and find me as soon as you wake up.”

The light around us changed. It was sunset. Amazing reds, golds, and purples, streaked across the sky.

Reviews & Sound Bytes


"Roers' debut novel heralds the arrival of an intelligent, heartfelt voice in the world of young adult fiction. The rich characters, emotional complexity, and confident prose are matched only by the landscape of dreams that Roers sets them against... a landscape brought vividly to life by the author's seemingly boundless imagination. This is a novel that respects its readers as much as its characters, and that's a beautiful rarity." ~ Mike Flanagan, Filmmaker, Absentia and Oculus

"Natalie Roers' debut novel is both riveting and relevant. More than a paranormal/fantasy/thriller, this is a complex tale that cuts to the very of heart of issues facing young adults today. Well sculptured characters and powerful imagery propel Roers' fascinating narrative." ~ Jason Tinney (Award-winning freelance journalist, musician, actor and the author of the story collection Bluebird.)

"Lucid is an interesting story and a fun read." ~ Amy Carol Reeves, author of Ripper and Renegade "Natalie Roers' voice is amazingly confident for a first novelist. Her journalist's eye for human detail draws you in, and makes you care about the people who populate the LUCID world. The more I got to know them, both awake and asleep in the world of lucid dreaming, the more time I wanted to spend in their world." ~ Jeff Howard, writer for Film District and Focus Features.


AUTHOR INFORMATION




Natalie Roers is a veteran writer, voice artist, and on-air personality. A journalist by trade, Lucid is her first work of fiction. She is busy at work on her second novel and hopes to raise money and social awareness for worthy causes with each book she writes. Natalie plans to donate a portion of every sale of this book to her favorite anti-bullying organizations. She lives with her husband Cory, and son Austin, in Columbia, South Carolina.





LINKS

Websites

FB

Blog

Goodreads