Feb 27, 2013

Cover Reveal: Blood Roses by Lindsay J. Pryor

I'm super excited to participate in the COVER REVEAL  for Blood Roses by Lindsay J. Pryor!!!
I LOVE the use of red on Blood Roses' cover!!

























“She was supposed to kill vampires, not save them. Those were the rules. That was the lore.” A rare and powerful witch whose blood is lethal to vampires, Leila has always viewed her serryn abilities as a curse. After seeing her mother slaughtered as a child, Leila longs for a safe, quiet life. That wish is shattered by Caleb Dehain – a vampire with a dark past and a darker heart. The most feared serryn hunter of his generation, Caleb now needs the help of one of the witches he despises to save his dying brother. A serryn who has no reason to help him. Except that he has her sister. Caleb and Leila are each other’s worst nightmare – but the slow-burning spark of attraction between them is undeniable. Will Leila’s blood be his damnation? Or could her kiss be his salvation?

Feb 25, 2013

Virtual Book Tour & Giveaway: In Like a Lion by Karin Shah




Today, I'd like to welcome In Like a Lion by Karin Shah Virtual Book Tour!
TOUR WIDE GIVEAWAY!
Karin is giving away 5 copies of In Like a Lion on this tour.  
To enter the giveaway, complete the rafflecopter at the end of this post. 




Title:  In Like a Lion (The Chimera Chronicles Book One)
Author: Karin Shah
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Cover Artist: Rae Monet

Book Description:  
 Dangerous and forbidden...


Research and scientist, Dr. Anjali Mehta, lost her beloved family in an earthquake. Only her work cuts through the paralyzing grief, but when she finds her new research subject, reputed mass murderer, Jake Finn, maddeningly uncooperative and inexplicably sexy she's tempted to run. How can she burn to touch a killer--a man behind bars?

What she doesn't know is that Jake is a chimer, a shapeshifter who can change into a lion or a dragon of all the strengths of both even in human form, who believes his ability to shape shift is nothing but a terrifying hallucination, and his overpowering attraction to his new doctor proof positive he's finally gone over the edge.

And the employer she trusts has an agenda all his own. If she can't believe the impossible, neither she nor Jake may make it out alive.

Excerpt:

Short Excerpt: As Anjali stepped out into the corridor, a shout made her freeze.
 The exclamation’s guttural force spurred her heartbeat into double time. What the hell? She tracked the alarming sound to a door with a glass window and peered inside.
 In the center of a large room, a shirtless man moved with fluid grace on exercise mats. Karate? Or Tae Kwon Do? That explained the shout. She shrugged.
Before she could slip away, the man turned and came closer. She ducked to the side so he couldn’t catch her watching.
 Her breath caught as she saw his lean face.
She swallowed, pulse leaping. God, he was gorgeous. Staring much, Anjali? she admonished herself, scraping together the remnants of logic blown away by the sight of him.
 This was just a man, his face, just a pleasing arrangement of features.
 Papers on the appeal of symmetry to the human mind had been mandatory reading in some of her classes.
 His movements took him deeper into the room and she inched closer again, her long exhale fogging the window in front of her. She didn’t need calipers to know when God had handed out facial symmetry, this man had pushed to the front of the line.
 Odd shadows lent the suggestion of a tiger’s stripes to the man’s elegant cheekbones and clean jaw. She glanced at the ceiling and noticed metal baskets caging the fluorescent light fixtures, throwing voids into the harsh glare.
 Her attention zeroed back to the man.
 His hair—raven black with the sheen of a crow’s feather—hung past his chin and fell forward, masking his eyes. She caught herself wishing he would raise his head so she could see them. Her gaze drifted downward, following the delicious curve of his shoulder.
 His large body was a work of art, each muscle defined and chiseled, as if Michelangelo had carved him from a piece of granite. The impish light played more tricks, lending his golden skin the sheen of satin as he defended against the attacks of invisible adversaries.
Her mouth dry, she watched him flow through the movement, muscles rippling beneath that flawless skin. Who was he? A guard?
 Given his size and superior musculature, if he was a doctor, he was nothing like the doctors and researchers she’d worked with in the past.
 Goose flesh pimpled the back of her arms. There was just something about a man that big that called to her most basic instincts.
 A disparaging laugh huffed from her chest. She’d been living like a nun for years and now she was drooling over a man so out of her league he might as well have been a movie star.
What sounded like a voice—short and harsh, but indistinct—reverberated through the thick, metal-reinforced glass. The man halted mid-move and glared over his powerful shoulder.
 For the first time, Anjali noticed there were other people in the room; uniformed men with sleek, ugly rifles, not only drawn, but leveled at the man as if prepared to shoot him at the slightest misstep.
 She gasped as an awful realization washed over her. This man—the first man to draw her interest since her loss—was not a guard or a doctor.
 He was Jake Finn, her subject, and a stone-cold killer.

About the Author:




I live in a suburb of Columbus, Ohio and worship Jeni's Ice Cream, JK Rowling, Jayne Ann Krentz, the tv show Supernatural, and the movies, Hunt For Red October and The Princess Bride(though not necessarily in that order.)

 I am a fanatical reader of Romance, particularly Sci-Fi Romance, Fantasy Romance and Paranormal Romance. I always write the book I want to read, so I tend to jump sub-genre a bit. My husband and I are the parents of two kids (a girl and a boy) and slaves to two dogs ( a basenji and a vizsla).

  I was born in Rochester, NY, attended SUNY Oswego and got my Master's in Information and Library Science at the University of Buffalo. I was a School Librarian in Webster, NY for five years before starting my writing career. (I still miss my students.)

 http://KarinShah.wordpress.com
 @KarinShah
 www.Facebook.com/KarinShahAuthor www.Facebook.com/KarinShah http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2878278.Karin_Shah a Rafflecopter giveaway

Feb 20, 2013

YA Paranormal Hop


I'm excited about participating in the YA Paranormal Hop hosted by I Am a Reader, Not a Writer and YA between the Lines!

Paranormal genre is my favorite! 

 For this hop, you can enter to win an e-copy of a YA Paranormal book from Amazon (up to $5 US).
Good Luck Everyone, Happy Hopping!





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Feb 19, 2013

Book Tour & Giveaway: Fall for Me by K.A. Last


Welcome Fall for Me by K.A. Last Book Tour!  I hope you all read this amazing book. Please continue reading for my review of Fall for Me and a Character Profile of Charlotte.

GIVEAWAY!
Check out the prizes K.A. is giving away!! To enter, complete the rafflecopter at the end of this post.

First Prize: One eBook copy of Fall for Me, Pair of silver tone angel wing earrings with diamante accents valued at $15 AUD plus a Fall For Me bookmark
Second Prize: $10 Amazon Kindle gift card
Third Prize: 5 Fall For Me bookmarks to five people


Book Synopsis:

Title:               Fall For Me (The Tate Chronicles #1)
Author:           K.A. Last
Genre:            Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Published:      January 17, 2013

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/ar_JVC2AgzE



“Angels aren’t supposed to fall in love, especially with each other. But for the record, you were worth it.”

 Grace Tate is a Protection Angel and Vampire Hunter, and she has always followed the rules. But some rules are made to be broken…

 Until now the fight against evil has been simple, and falling in love was never part of the plan. So what happens when it’s beyond Grace’s control, and when she least expects it she falls for the wrong person?

 All hell breaks loose, that’s what. At Hopetown Valley High, not everything is as it seems, and the one person Grace thought was her enemy becomes her most important ally.

 Blood will be shed, lives will be lost and friendships will be tested. It all comes down to one decision, and when Grace tries to save all those dear to her, she realises not everyone can be—or wants to be—saved.

My Review:

Fall for me is the first book in The Tate Chronicles.  It is a great beginning to a new series.  

Grace is a Protection Angel.  She protects her twin brother, Archer, who is the Hunter.  Together, they hunt vampires to protect the innocent.  The Tate family has been protecting innocents for centuries.   As the protector, Grace is not allowed to indulge in a physical relationship with a human.  When she develops feelings for her classmate, Josh, the council warns her that she would become a fallen angel if she acts upon her feelings.  During the same time, Grace and Archer meet Charlotte, a vampire.  However, Charlotte is no ordinary vampire.  Her soul is pure and she hunts vampires too. They refuse to kill her and offer her protection from other vampires who are hunting Charlotte.   When the council orders Grace to end her relationship with Josh and kill Charlotte, she must make a decision between following her heart and become a fallen angel or follow the council's order. Grace knows the consequences of becoming a fallen angel all to well.  Her former friend, Seth, fell centuries earlier for reason's she doesn't understand.  Seth continues to be a force in her life as he becomes her enemy.  What path will Grace follow? Is Seth really her enemy? How did Charlotte become different from other vampires?  Well, you'll have to read Fall for Me to find out all the answers. 

Fall for Me started out a little slow for me.  However, the pace quickly picked up. There is plenty of action and fighting. All the characters are easy to relate to and and likeable.  Grace is a wonderful character.  She is loyal to her friends and family.  Like most teenagers, she starts to question authority figures and seeks to make her own decisions.  Archer is the over protective brother, who would do anything to protect his sister.  I admit I'm a sucker for love triangles and Fall for Me didn't disappoint in this area.  I loved the complicated love triangle between Grace, Josh, and Seth.  

The writing flowed smoothly making Fall for Me easy to read. I loved the very beginning of the book, when we see Seth fall. This section was beautifully written from his point of view.  The rest of the book alternates between the POV of Grace and Josh. Typically, I'm not a fan of alternating POV; however, it worked really well in this book.  By doing this, it enhanced my reading experience by allowing me to develop a more intense relationship with both characters.

I absolutely loved this book.  I cannot wait to read the next book!  I really want to know how this love triangle plays out.  




  
The author provided me with a copy of this book for an honest review.


Character Profile of Charlotte:

Name: Charlotte Fallon
Biography: Charlotte is a rare breed of vampire called the Blaze. She can walk around during the day like any normal person, and her blood gives other vamps the ability to do the same. Every vampire that knows about her wants her, and because of this she’s on the run.
Age: Exact age is unknown. Charlotte says she was turned at the age of 16.
Height: five-feet, ten-inches.
Weight: 59kg
Body Type: Tall and sleek.
Complexion: Pale and radiant.
Eyes: Jet black.
Hair: Soft, wavy, strawberry gold hair that falls to her shoulders.
Clothing Style: Other than her school uniform, anything black.
Speaking Style: Quiet and reserved.
General Demeanour: Charlotte is shy, and generally pretty quiet. Still, you don’t want to get on her bad side.
Career: Vampire.
Prejudices: Normal ‘bad’ vamps. Charlotte is sometimes ashamed to be a vampire.
Best Qualities: Charlotte may walk a fine line when it comes to good and evil, but she is essentially good.
Weaknesses: Her blood has the ability to allow any normal vampire to walk around during daylight hours.
Hobbies: Hunting the bad vamps.
Talents: Speed, strength and using her glamour on humans.

Buy Link:



About the Author:

K. A. Last was born in Subiaco, Western Australia, and moved to Sydney with her parents and older brother when she was eight. Artistic and creative by nature, she studied Graphic Design and graduated with an Advanced Diploma. After marrying her high school sweetheart, she concentrated on her career before settling into family life. Blessed with a vivid imagination, she began writing to let off creative steam, and fell in love with it. She now resides in a peaceful leafy suburb north of Sydney with her husband, their two children, and a rabbit named Twitch. 

 Website: www.kalastbooks.com.au 
 Twitter: www.twitter.com/KALastBooks
 Facebook: www.facebook.com/KALastBooks 
 Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/KALast
 Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/kalast


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Feb 17, 2013

Book Tour & Giveaway: Shattered Circle by Linda Robertson


Welcome to the last stop on the Shattered Circle Book Tour! I'd like to thank Linda for sharing with us a great excerpt from the book.  As part of the book tour, Linda is giving away ten (10) print copies of Shattered Circle.  To enter the tour wide giveaway, please complete the rafflecopter at the end of this post. 

Book Synopsis:

Title:       Shattered Circle (Persephone Alcmedi #6)
Author:   Linda Robertson



JUST YOUR AVERAGE MEGA-WITCH. . . .

 It’s tough being a modern woman, but Persephone Alcmedi has it worse than most. Being the prophesied Lustrata has kicked her career as a witch into high gear, and juggling a w√¶rewolf boyfriend who is about to become king of his kind and a seductive vampire who bears her magical Mark isn’t easy either.

Still, Seph’s beloved foster daughter, Beverley, is causing more trouble than these two men put together. The young girl’s been playing with a magical artifact that’s far more dangerous than she realizes. Now Seph must summon help from a mystical being so potent that even vampires fear him . .  and the cost of his aid may be more than she’s willing to pay. Seph, Johnny, and Menessos face threats from all sides—and a few from within. Will the forces of destiny cement their tenuous supernatural union, or shatter it forever?

Feb 16, 2013

Book Tour & Giveaway: Hereafter by Terri Bruce



Welcome Hereafter by Terri Bruce Virtual Book Tour! Terri is doing a Tour Wide Giveaway!!  To enter the giveaway complete the rafflecopter at the end of this post.  

HEREAFTER
By
Terri Bruce


Book Details
Publication Date: August 1, 2012
Publisher: Eternal Press
Number of Pages: 296
Genre: Paranormal / Contemporary Fantasy

Why let a little thing like dying get in the way of a good time? Thirty-six-year-old Irene Dunphy didn't plan on dying any time soon, but that’s exactly what happens when she makes the mistake of getting behind the wheel after a night bar-hopping with friends. She finds herself stranded on earth as a ghost, where the food has no taste, the alcohol doesn’t get you drunk, and the sex...well, let’s just say “don’t bother.” To make matters worse, the only person who can see her—courtesy of a book he found in his school library—is a fourteen-year-old boy genius obsessed with the afterlife.                                                                                                                                                                                                                         This sounds suspiciously like hell to Irene, so she prepares to strike out for the Great Beyond. The only problem is that, while this side has exorcism, ghost repellents, and soul devouring demons, the other side has three-headed hell hounds, final judgment, and eternal torment. If only there was a third option…

Excerpt


Suddenly, as if out of nowhere, a boy appeared in her path. She veered around him and then skidded to a halt, something about him making her stop. She turned around and realized he was staring at her, his face a mask of astonishment, his mouth hanging open.
“Hey kid, watch where you’re going,” she said, more surprised than annoyed.
He was maybe fourteen and nearly as tall as her, at that “beanpole” stage, as her grandmother had called it—the tall and scrawny look of one growing too fast. What little of his face visible under a curtain of straw-colored hair was pointed and sharp—cheekbones, chin, and nose. His hair, cut in an asymmetrical bob that left it longer in the front than the back, was parted on the side and hung in his face, concealing his left eye. Somehow, the way one washed-out hazel eye was visible and the other hidden reminded her of Pete, the dog from the Little Rascals.
She realized he hadn’t moved a muscle and was still staring at her gape-mouthed.
“Did you hear me?” she asked.
He gave a little shake of his head, as if he was doing a double take. The motion caused the curtain of hair hanging over his eyes to sway. “Yeeesss,” he said in a slow, cautious, drawn-out way.
“Why are you staring at me?”
“Well, it’s just, because…you know. You’re…” He trailed off.
Irene narrowed her eyes. “I’m what?”
The boy turned beet red and took a step back, giving a hard gulp that made Irene fear he had swallowed his tongue. “Well…dead,” he stuttered.
Irene looked around sharply, scanning in both directions. She expected to see kids jumping out at her with squirt guns. It sounded like the kind of thing they’d do. They would soak her and shout, “Ha ha, got you! You’re dead!”
Only there was nowhere to jump out from. There was Mister MacKenzie’s lawn, cut with Stepford-like precision in one direction and the Robellas’ confusion of flowers, which had progressed from neat raised beds to riotous English cottage garden to tangled jungle over the years.
Irene turned back to the boy and looked him up and down with a critical eye. He didn’t look like a troublemaker—he was dressed neatly in khakis, a long-sleeved T-shirt, and sneakers. The exposed wrists and ankles—the telltale signs of a boy growing too fast for his clothes—and the dusting of freckles across his nose helped to cement an air of vulnerability and sincerity. She pursed her lips.
“Okay, you know what, smart ass? I’m having a bit of a personal emergency at the moment. My mother is having a stroke or something. You might want to remember that next time you decide to try and play a joke on someone.” She turned away, ready to move on, but his voice, vibrating with hurt, stopped her.
“It’s not a joke. You’ve got the…the…aura, like the book said. That means you’re dead.”
“I what?” Irene’s voice rose in disbelief. Reflexively, she looked down at herself. There did seem to be a faint flicker around her, a pearly blue-white, sparkling like faded opals. Her heart began to beat faster. She spun around.
“What the…? Did you put something on me?”
He blinked at her, surprise opening up his face, and his mouth formed an O again. “So, you don’t know that you’re dead? Huh.”
“I’m not dead,” she cried, throwing up her hands again. “Stop saying that!”
Some of his surprise seemed to have worn off and now he studied Irene with relaxed interest, seeming to assess her much the same way she was assessing him. He balanced on one leg and scratched the back of it with the sneakered-toe of his other foot.
“I’m really sorry,” he said, and he really did sound sorry.
For some reason, his sympathy frightened her more than anything else. She backed away, shaking her head in disbelief. Then she whirled away from him and fled, racing for home.
Behind her, she heard the sound of sneakers slapping pavement. She looked over her shoulder and saw the boy, at an unhurried pony-trot, following her.
She slowed as she approached her driveway. The boy came to a halt beside her.
“Stop following me!” she said, but exasperated, as if to a stray dog, instead of afraid. Somehow the scrawny, pale, interested boy was about as frightening as toothpaste.
“Car accident, huh? That sucks.”
She stared at him. He was studying her house and yard with the same rapt fascination with which he had regarded her.
“What? What are you talking about?” However, as she looked at her car, she could see that it, too, had the same pearly, blue glow that seemed to surround her.
The boy shook his head. “I’m sorry,” he said again.
“I’m not dead!” she shouted in exasperation, but her heart was thumping uncertainly.
“Then how did you end up on the side of the road?” a small voice inside her head asked.
He frowned at her. “You didn’t kill yourself did you?” he asked doubtfully. “I heard how you can kill yourself by sticking a hose from the tailpipe into the car—”
“Of course I didn’t kill myself! Jesus!” She shot him a look of deep disgust. “And I’m not dead!” Despite her words, the sinking feeling in the pit of her stomach worsened as she looked at her hands and arms again, confirming that the weird glow was still there.
Something dark in the grass of Jamaica’s yard caught her eye. Kitty was lying with his head cushioned on his front paws, a droopy, depressed look on his face. Jamaica must be home.
Squaring her shoulders and shooting the boy another look of reproach, she marched up Jamaica’s front walk. “I’ll prove it,” she said.





Purchase Details

Paperback (ISBN: 978-1-61572-725-4)                                     E-Book (ISBN: 978-1-61572-724-7)

Available Wherever Books Are Sold Plus:                       Available From:
Amazon.com                                               Amazon.com (kindle)                      Eternal Press (all ebook formats)
 Amazon.co.uk                                             B&N.com (nook)                              iTunes (epub)
B&N.com                                                     Blio                                                     Kobo Bookstore
Book Depository                                          Coffee Time Romance                   


About the Author
Terri Bruce has been making up adventure stories for as long as she can remember and won her first writing award when she was twelve. Like Anne Shirley, she prefers to make people cry rather than laugh, but is happy if she can do either. She produces fantasy and adventure stories from a haunted house in New England where she lives with her husband and three cats.

Contact Details
Email:                     tbruce@terribruce.net
Website/Blog:       www.terribruce.net
Twitter:                  @_TerriBruce

Tour Wide Giveaway!

2 winnters -- each will receive a gift packs containing
  • 1 signed print copy of Hereafter
  • $10 Amazon gift card
  • Goth bunny journal (blank)
  • Signed Hereafter swag (postcards and bookmarks)
  • Set of spooky note cards.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Feb 11, 2013

Love Rocks Book Tour & Giveaway: Rock n Roll Promises by AmBear Shellea


I'd like to welcome AmBear Shellea, author of Rock n Roll Promises, Chaos Unleashed and Revelation. She is here to promote her newest release Rock n Roll Promises, book 1 in the Rock n Roll Paraphantasy Series.  

We have picked random questions and thrown them at her so she has to answer them as quickly as she can.  Grab your coffee, get comfy and here we go.


1.       Which of your books is your favorite?
It would have to be this one, Rock n Roll Promises.  I think because it has been the most fun to write. I really got to let my rocker smart ass side loose.

2.       Which of your characters is your favorite?
Oliver Zane “Ozzie”.  He is the ultimate hard rockin’ bad boy with a quick wit and smart mouth!

3.       What childish things do you still do as adult?
Coloring! As in crayons, markers and color books. I love to sit in the floor with my nieces, various ages, and my daughters, who are 19 & 17, and just color.  We have a great time.

4.       You are planning the most awesome dinner party of your life. Which 3 celebrities/historical figures (past or present) would you add to your guest list to keep the dinner talk interesting?
Well before I answer this question, hold on to your hats because this is going to sound very weird.  Here goes, my three guests: The most AWESOME Rock Band ever, AC DC. The king of Country, George Strait and the creator of one of the best cars ever designed, Shelby GT 500, Carroll Shelby.

5.       Do you have any favorite authors or favorite books?
Terry Goodkind and his Sword of Truth series, which is awesome!

6.       What’s the best thing about being an author?
I would like to say something profound like fulfillment or the sense of accomplishment and these are mind-blowing feelings but in the everyday: I get to work every day in my Jammies, if I choose, and NO ONE cares! 

7.       What’s your favorite line from any movie?
“Go on Smart Ass and do it” This is from my all-time favorite movie, A Christmas story, which I watch oh so many times, from October to January.

8.       What's your favorite thing to do in the summer? Fall? Winter? Spring?
Oh, there are so many things; it’s hard to say just one per season. Winter is pretty easy, decorating for Christmas! Lights, tree, gifts, can it really get better? Spring would probably be…okay decorating. Playing in flowers and transforming my house from Snow to flowers.  Fall would have to be going to the pumpkin patch and finding the perfect little pumpkin. Summer, oh summer, I love laying out and soaking up Vitamin D!

9.       Describe your ideal romantic date.
I have actually had one of my ideal dates. My hubby and children conspired to pull it off.  It was actually just a few years ago.  So here’s how it went down. Hubby and I went out to my favorite Steak place for dinner. Afterward we went for a walk and later returned to home where…wait for it…When I opened the door were cutouts of different shaped colorful hearts scattered along floor trailing to the bedroom. Inside our room, our initials, also in different shaped colored hearts formed the words “I love u J&A” taped on the wall, streamers falling from the ceiling and two wine glasses and our favorite bottles of drink upon the fireplace.  Yes, it was fabulous.  No ladies, I have not married “Prince Charming” per say, but he is my charming prince, sometimes. This city girl loves her Country Boy! This kind of date does not happen all the time; this was for our 18th wedding anniversary.

10.   What's your favorite love story movie?

The notebook! I am not one for “chick-flicks” but I loved the notebook. It is one of the few movies I have ever cried during, but who didn’t?  That is a real love story!


Thanks to AmBear Shellea for the interview!  Continue reading for more information on Rock & Roll Promises and the Giveaways!
  


Goodreads Synopsis:

GOODREADS

OFFICIAL BOOK TRAILER

 Fulfilling a promise leads to searching her soul, her past, and the one night that changed her life forever...

 Young, vibrant and with her whole life in front of her, Anna, who had recently traveled to Australia, is looking forward to ringing in the new year at her favorite bar. Dressed to the hilt, ready for a great night, she meets Sebastian-Tall, mysterious and handsome. Her one stand turns into a one life exchange! The beginning of a new existence.

 Anna finds her new life holds more than even she knows. It promises rock n roll, sex, love and secrets and a new set of rules. She embraces her new found self and learns to adapt. Anna, and her bestie, Paige, move back home to the states and live as normally as they can. As they say, best laid plans and all-Life has a different plan and yet another set of rules- Rules that even she breaks. The creation of a whole new animal.

BUY LINKS:


<


Excerpt:


This is nice. 

 A soft glow illuminated the room due to the sporadically lit candles. The flame light bounced off the curtains framing the bed. She noticed the walls were a deep maroon color until halfway down then they were a beige color beneath white trim. The cream carpet was plush and added softness to the area. The bedroom was small but perfect for the task. Her silk teddy moved easily upon her frame as she walked to the bed.

 Big and comfy!

 The black sheets felt like silk against her body as she crawled on her hands and knees to the big plush pillows at the end of the bed. Her long, brown curls played around her shoulders when she moved. They were as soft as the sheets beneath her. Her nerves pricked at her skin and her pulse raced when she heard his footsteps down the hall.

 Now or never. Here he comes and a promise is a promise. Her heart raced in anticipation. The big fluffy clouds of white cotton shook slightly in her nervous grasp as she snatched them up and stacked them against the headboard. She rolled onto her back and posed playfully upon the pillows. She put one knee up with a heel on the bed and laid the other to the side, slightly bent. It left just enough of a gap between her legs to show a small peek at what she promised. 

She wore exactly what he had asked for: the dark red and black teddy. Her cleavage sat mounded high upon her chest, barely covered with the satiny fabric. Under her bust line, the fabric cinched together in a laced pattern and ran all the way down her stomach, making a V-shape between her thighs. Black stockings covered her legs up to mid-thigh and fastened to a black garter belt.

 I hope he likes my heels. I think they set the outfit off nicely. They look like something a porn star would wear. Oh, how I love six inch spikes! 

With her left hand above her head and the right one on her inner thigh, she waited for the door to open. I hope this is over quickly. I know I can handle this, but I would definitely be happier to endure less of him.

 The creaking sounds of the door opening filled the room. Thank God, he is ready. Finally!

 The door swung wide and there he stood, tall, buff and naked.

 Oh, la la! This might not be so bad after all. His clothes hid the sexy beneath them. He was but a few heartbeats away. With her eyes fully focused, she traced his frame. Shadows cast by candlelight played upon his tanned skin. His broad shoulders moved his muscled arms slightly as he walked closer. Streams of water ran from his dark black hair down his sculpted chest and slid the length of his frame, down his stomach, flexing his tight abs as he moved. Strong hips and toned legs carried him to the end of the bed. His clean, shaved face was smooth and it softened his hard features. 

 Chocolate mousse eyes...gorgeous. Bad boy all the way. His body is so hot, I bet I could fry eggs on those abs. “I have waited a long time for this, Anna.”



Author Info:

Although I have always enjoyed writing, the dream to become a writer came when I read A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare, in the sixth grade. My early works, not published, were in the form of children’s stories I would read to my two daughters. I divide my days between the real world and the ones I’ve created. My life and my characters keep me very busy in my Mid-Western scene, where I live with my husband, and my children (both human and furry).

                            Rock n Roll Promises Book Site           Author Website

 FACEBOOK              BOOK BLOGS                  FREADO                     TWITTER

GIVEAWAY:


a Rafflecopter giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway

Feb 4, 2013

Review Tour & Giveaway: The Dream Slayer by Jill Cooper



GIVEAWAY!.....Jill will be awarding an Amazon $50 GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour and a second prize of an EBook Copy of Glistening Haven,a Dystopian Novel to another randomly drawn commenter during the tour.

Click here to follow the tour. Remember to leave a comment on each tour stop to increase your chances of winning one of the wonderful prizes!


BLURB: 

 In the young adult teen series Dream Slayer, Natalie Johnson has always dreamed she’s someone else; calm, beautiful, in control. A chosen warrior with a maniacal arch nemesis and a dreamy boyfriend, the type that can make your knees melt and your heart quiver.

 Real life is much different. She’s tormented by a bully and endures the sharp tongue of her father, but finds solace in her dreams.

 When her bully ends up dead, de ja vu from a dream hits her hard as everything around her begins to fall apart. Whatever killed Sarah in her dreams is now in reality, hunting her from the shadows. And it wants her dead.

 Somehow as the lines between reality and nightmare blur, Natalie must discover hidden strength to pull her friends and family back from the brink of madness.

Excerpt:


Tristan grabbed her arm. “Nat, what’s the matter?” he said, but his voice was drowned out by the throttled engine. Suddenly, the car was charging toward them. It swerved up onto the curb with Natalie in its sights.

 There was no time to react. She was going to be hit and she braced for impact by squeezing her eyes shut.

 “Nat!” 

 Tristan’s yanked on her arm, and they tumbled across the street into a stack of empty cardboard boxes. Natalie crashed right into a brick wall and fought the bile rising in her throat. The world spun in crashing waves as her vision fluxed in and out. Her head throbbed from the impact, but her heart was still unable to comprehend what had happened.

 Screeching tires heralded the car leaving scene. She rolled over onto her stomach and saw Tristan lying beside her. Natalie’s eyes followed the car speeding down the street with a stream of smoke coming out of its tailpipe.

 “It… didn’t have a license plate,” Tristan said. 

 Natalie’s chin quivered, and she quelled it by biting her lip. She closed her eyes and rested her head on her arm. If she breathed or moved, Natalie would vomit. 

 Tristan touched her cheek and rested his forehead against hers. “Are you all right?”

 “Yeah.” Her voice shook when she spoke. 

“Yeah, I’m good.” 

 “What a lunatic. Didn’t he see you?”

 Natalie’s chin quivered. “He saw me.”

 Tristan’s head snapped toward her. His eyes were wide, searching hers for an answer.

 “He swerved towards me.” Natalie’s voice was low to keep the tears back. She thought if she spoke any louder, there would be an unstoppable rainstorm. “He wanted to hit me.”

My Review:

The Dream Slayer is a good start to a new Young Adult series. Cooper does an excellent job transitioning the writing from real life Natalie to the dream Natalie. I enjoyed this concept of two alternate dimensions. Cooper’s writing style easily transitions between the two dimensions. I loved the witty dialogue and pop culture references.

 In real life, Natalie’s character lives in an abusive home with an alcoholic father and is bullied my peers at school. Natalie does not disclose her bullying to any adults. When she dreams, Natalie becomes an assertive, confident, and ass kicking female slayer. She protects her community from evil beings such as vampires and demons. When her real self becomes aware of her dream self, Natalie’s life changes. She realizes she is a paladin (slayer) and only she can protect everyone she cares about from their worst nightmare by defeating the powerful demon attempting to consume the crystal power source hidden in her town. Natalie and her sidekicks work together to save their own lives and the town. Along the journey, Natalie begins to believe in herself and her powers.

The Dream Slayer is a good read and I recommend this book.  I look forward to learning more about the characters, especially Natalie.



I received a copy of this book from the author for an honest review.

BUY LINK:



Author Info:

Jill Cooper loves tea more than coffee and is obsessed over finding that perfect recipe.She was born in 1977 and shared a room with her sister for 18 years. Early on she had dreams of writing romances and mysteries. It was something she did when most kids were trying out for softball or out riding bikes. She's always loved dark mysteries, but also enjoys a great comedy so she tries to include both these things in everything she writes, one way or another. She lives in Danvers, MA with two cats, a toddler, a husband, and a 1964 yellow taxi. Her life is chaotic, but fun. She can be contacted at http://www.jillacooper.com

            Author Links:            TWITTER        FACEBOOK